Find out all about the New Cisco Certifications by Spoto

Cisco certifications by spoto

At Cisco Live in 2021, the announcement of a new CCNA 200-901 practice (Cisco Certified Network Associate) was met with mixed reviews by all in attendance. Excitement, but also a little apprehension Indeed, this new certification will be designed to validate a base of knowledge and know-how obviously concerning the network, but something new, also security, automation and programmability, concepts which were mainly addressed in the other certifications of the level. Associate. We can easily understand, from this announcement that the new CCNA 200-901 will replace the existing certifications:

Many changes also for the CCNP

Until now, specialization was possible from the CCNA 200-901. For example, we could pass CCNA 200-901 Security, then CCNP Security, and finally CCIE Security. From February 2020, the single CCNA 200-901 (200-301) will cover all the basic elements of the network, and specialization can only be done at the CCNP level. From a structural point of view, the construction has changed a bit. Take the example of a person wishing to become CCNP Security. To do this, you will need to pass two exams: a C ore Exam and a Security Concentration Exam of your choice. In fact, this results in obtaining the 300-701 SCOR exam (Implementing and Operating Cisco Security Core Technologies) and one of the six Concentration Exams:

What about the CCIE in the redesign of the Cisco exams?

And yes, all certifications have been affected by the overhaul!

As for other certifications, to obtain the DevNet Professional, you must pass the Core Exam: 300-901 DEVCOR – Developing Applications and Automating Workflows using Cisco spoto


The CCIE will now have 6 specialties, and will no longer have a dedicated “CCIE written” exam. Instead, you will need to take the CCNP Core Exam, and then pass the 8 hour lab test. For example, to obtain the CCIE Security, you will have to pass the CCNP Security Core Exam (SCOR 300-701) and then the 8-hour laboratory test: CCIE Security v6.0. Attention, small subtlety, for the case of the CCIE Enterprise, there are two possible options: CCIE Enterprise Wireless and CCIE Enterprise Infrastructure. Regarding these two exams, it is necessary to take the CCNP enterprise Core Exam (ENCOR 300-401) but each of them has its own lab.

The DevNet – The New Cisco Certification Path

There would be four levels for DevNet certifications:

  • Cisco Certified DevNet Associate (Same level as CCNA 200-901)
  • Cisco Certified DevNet Specialist
  • Cisco Certified DevNet Professional (Same level as CCNP)
  • Cisco Certified DevNet Expert (Same level as CCIE) being created

The DevNet Associate is designed to validate the skills of developers, DevOPS, automation specialists, and other IT professionals.

To obtain this certification, you must pass the 200-901 DEVASC exam which covers a fairly wide field obviously covering 80% of development (Python): JSON, YAML, use of GIT, interactions with REST APIs and the Cisco SDK via Python, Ensile, Puppet, Chef, Cisco NSO, control of Maraca, Cisco DNA Center, SD-WAN, ACI, NSO terminals, use of RESTCONF, NETCONF, and YANG, etc. … But also at 20% on fairly basic network knowledge.

You May Also Like

About the Author: Tom William

My name is Tom William a expert content creator and SEO expert having Proven record of excellent writing demonstrated in a professional portfolio Impeccable grasp of the English language, including press releases and current trends in slang and details.