Recent studies have shown that alcohol was the cause of 31% of vehicle fatalies in Maryland. A DUI is a serious offense in Maryland, and it’s important to know the consequences you may face if convicted.
This guide will give you an overview of what you need to know—from the legal penalties to how a Maryland DUI can impact your driving privileges. Read on to learn more!
Drunk Driving in Maryland
Drunk driving is a serious offense in Maryland. If you are convicted of drunk driving, you could face a number of consequences, including jail time, fines, and the loss of your driver’s license.
Jail time is a possible penalty for drunk driving in Maryland. The length of your jail sentence depends on the severity of your offense and whether you have any prior drunk driving convictions.
Fines are another possible penalty for drunk driving in Maryland. The amount of the fine is determined by your offense and whether you have any prior drunk driving convictions.
Furthermore, the loss of your driver’s license is also another consequence of drunk driving in Maryland. Your driver’s license may be suspended or revoked depending on the severity of the situation.
If you’re thinking of hiring an attorney for your DUI, check out this page.
Maryland Law: Penalties for DUI
Maryland law requires that a person convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) complete a treatment program. The program must be licensed by the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene and must last at least 10 weeks.
A person who is convicted of a second DUI offense must complete a longer treatment program, lasting at least 20 weeks. A person convicted of a third DUI offense must complete a treatment program lasting at least 30 weeks.
Treatment programs may include individual counseling, group counseling, and education about alcoholism and substance abuse.
A person who is convicted of a DUI must pay a fine of $1,000. A person convicted of a second DUI offense must pay a fine of $2,500. Someone convicted of a third DUI offense must pay a fine of $3,000.
An individual charged with a DUI may also be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle, according to ignition interlock law.
An ignition interlock device is a breathalyzer that prevents a vehicle from starting if the driver has been drinking alcohol. Furthermore, a person with a second DUI offense must have an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle for at least six months.
A person convicted of a third DUI offense must have an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle for at least one year.
Individuals with a DUI may have their driver’s license suspended for up to six months, and up to a year for a second DUI offense.
Maryland DUI: The Consequences
If you or someone you know has been arrested for a DUI in Maryland, be sure to reach out to an experienced defense attorney as soon as possible. The penalties for a Maryland DUI conviction are severe. Therefore, it’s important to have someone on your side who knows the law inside and out.
Thanks for reading. We hope this information was helpful. Be sure to visit our website again!
Andrea Parker is a reporter for Zobuz. She previously worked at Huffington Post and Vanity Fair. Andrea is based in NYC and covers issues affecting her city. In addition to her severe coffee addiction, she’s a Netflix enthusiast, a red wine drinker, and a voracious reader.